SLIDESHOW: Switchfoot, Colony House and Tyson Motsenbocker at The Warfield

Switchfoot, Jon Foreman

Switchfoot performs at The Warfield in San Francisco on April 7, 2019. Click the photo for a slideshow.

SAN FRANCISCO — San Diego alt-rock band Switchfoot, which released its 11th album, Native Tongue, last fall, brought its tour to The Warfield Sunday night.

Switchfoot is marking its 20th year together, as well as keyboardist Jerome Fontamillas’ recovery from cancer. He, singer-guitarist Jon Foreman, bassist Tim Foreman, drummer Chad Butler and guitarist Drew Shirley played a set that included several cuts from the new record; including the title track, “Prodigal Soul” and “All I Need.”

The band also performed a handful of songs from 2016’s Where the Light Shines Through, as well as a few from 2003 album The Beautiful Letdown, which broke Switchfoot into the mainstream.

Click the photo above for the slideshow, or see the setlist below.

Tennessee rockers Colony House (led by Caleb and Will Chapman, the sons of Steven Curtis Chapman) and San Diego singer-songwriter Tyson Motsenbocker opened the show. Fun fact: Motsenbocker spent a month walking from San Diego to the Golden Gate Bridge, a trip during which he composed some songs. His short set included the upbeat “Take All Night for Nothing.”

Switchfoot setlist

  1. Take My Fire
  2. Meant to Live
  3. Stars
  4. Oh! Gravity.
  5. Live It Well
  6. I Won’t Let You Go
  7. Voices
  8. Love Alone Is Worth the Fight
  9. Float
  10. Gone
  11. The Edge of the Earth
  12. The Shadow Proves the Sunshine
  13. All I Need
  14. If the House Burns Down Tonight
  15. Prodigal Soul
  16. Dare You to Move
  17. Native Tongue
  18. Where I Belong

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *