Noise Pop Review: Electric Guest wows sold-out Independent

Electric Guest, Asa Taccone, Matthew Cornbread Compton, Matthew Compton

SAN FRANCISCO — “It’s been five fucking years, man. Damn. And San Francisco was the first place to sell out.”

Thus began Los Angeles band Electric Guest’s triumphant return to touring, as they hit the quaint stage at the Independent. Lead singer Asa Taccone (brother of the Loney Island’s Jorma Taccone) seemed to revel in the joy of being back on stage. Smiling often and hitting every note in perfect pitch, Taccone bounced around the stage like a boxer dancing his way around the ring.

The dimly lit venue provided a nice backdrop to the ultra-hyped band as they started with “Waves,” off their debut album Mondo. Then the band, which includesMatthew “Cornbread” Compton, and brothers Todd and Tory Dahlhoff, went into “Bound to Lose” off their new album. As Taccone sang with precision and his arms flailed with operatic fashion, the band fell into line and everything became a sort of collective unification of sound.

Later, Taccone told a story about arriving to the venue in an Uber and being approached by a local entrepreneur. “I got out and this guy asked me if I wanted to buy acid. There’s some 1960’s Haight shit going on again.” He continued, “So I said, ‘Nah man. I got a show to do and I want to be in the right frame of mind.’ And he said, ‘Exactly.’”

Like the drugs in San Francisco, Electric Guest is making a gigantic resurgence. From the frenetic energy the band showed on stage Tuesday night, there’s nothing that’s going to be able to stop them.


  1. Waves
  2. Bound To Lose
  3. Back On Me
  4. Amber
  5. Zero
  6. This Head I Hold
  7. Over
  8. The Omen
  9. The Bait
  10. Holes
  11. Oh Devil
  12. Dear To Me


  1. See The Light

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *